West Berkshire Council

Start date: 2019-01-14
End date: 2019-02-11
Results: 2019-03-12

Review of Polling Districts and Places 2018

Help us make sure that voting is accessible, convenient and in suitable places


This consultation is closed


Why are we doing a review?

The Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places (Parliamentary Elections) Regulations 2006 and Section 17 of the Electoral Registration Act 2013 require local authorities to review their polling districts, places, and stations every five years. The review period starts in October, and each authority may choose the exact dates and length of their review; however it must fall within a 16 month period. The next compulsory review period is from October 2018 to January 2020.

We also want to make sure that elections can be delivered successfully for the newly created wards, and that voting facilities are convenient and accessible for electors, following the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's (LGBCE) review of our ward boundaries in 2017/18. This reduced the number of  wards from 30 to 24 and the number of Councillors from 52 to 43 (starting from the May 2019 elections).


What we've done so far

We carried out a preliminary review of our polling districts and places in September 2018, and met with Conservative and Liberal Party Groups within the council, and with the Disability External Scrutiny Board.


What we're consulting on

It is proposed that the majority of the polling places remain the same, the exceptions being:

  1. Newbury Greenham and Newbury Wash Common Wards - we've proposed a new place at Newbury Rugby Club
  2. East Ilsley Ward - we'd like suggestions for an alternative place, as the current location is no longer available
  3. Newbury Greenham Ward - we'd like suggestions for an alternative place on Newbury Racecourse

Although, the remainder of the places remain unchanged, there are proposed alterations to the polling districts. This follows changes made to the ward boundaries by the LGBCE review. We would also welcome your views on these.

Before you complete the survey, please read the pdf icon background information [7Mb], which includes maps of the proposed polling districts and places, and information on the number of electors in each area.

The current polling districts and places can be found on our interactive map.  Alternatively they can be viewed by appointment at the Market Street Offices during office hours whilst the review is taking place.

Please note the review does not cover the changing of ward or constituency boundaries or names, which are the responsibility of the LGBCE (for wards) and the Parliamentary Boundary Commission (for constituencies).

Our recommendations will be submitted for consideration to the Full Council Meeting on 5 March 2019. Any changes will be in place for the District Elections on 2 May 2019, and registered electors will be notified of where they can vote on their poll cards or can .

What you told us

We received 42 completed responses. The majority responded positively to the proposed changes. 

What we did

We will take your comments into consideration and a report will be prepared for submission to the Full Council meeting on 5 March 2019.

Who To Contact

Contact details for West Berkshire Council's Electoral Services Team

01635 519464