West Berkshire Council

West Berkshire Council logo
Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Find information about community support and our services during the coronavirus pandemic, on our information for residents pages, our information for businesses pages, and our community support hub page which has guidance to help coordinate community organisations.

See a summary of our Local Outbreak Control Plan and read our frequently asked questions. 

West Berkshire Local Plan Review to 2037

Planning policies for development in West Berkshire to 2037

Our current Local Plan sets out our planning policies up to 2026. We have now begun a review of our Local Plan to cover the period up to 2037.

Regulation 18 consultation on the emerging draft of the West Berkshire Local Plan Review (LPR) to 2037

We have produced an emerging draft of the LPR which is available to download pdf icon online [9Mb]. This identifies the development that is required to meet our local needs, sets out our strategy for distributing development within the district, as well as outlines our policies for conserving and enhancing the natural and built environment. It will help people in West Berkshire achieve sustainable development.

We would welcome your feedback on the emerging draft LPR. Your comments should be submitted during the eight week consultation period which runs from Friday 11 December 2020 to 4.30pm on Friday 5 February 2021.

How to comment on the consultation

The emerging draft LPR can be viewed online and in West Berkshire Council Offices in Market Street, Newbury, RG14 5LD during normal opening hours. Please note that opening hours may be subject to change at short notice due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Representations can be made in writing or by way of electronic communications:

  • Online: using the Council's Local Plan Consultation Portal. This is the easiest and most efficient way to both view the document and respond. You will need to register, but then any comments you make will be stored in your account for future reference. Registration is possible using a Facebook or Twitter account.
  • By Representation Form which is available to download doc icon online [89kb].

All representations must be received by 4.30pm on Friday 5 February 2021:

  • By email to planningpolicy@westberks.gov.uk; or
  • By post to the Planning Policy Team, Development and Planning, West Berkshire District Council, Market Street, Newbury, RG14 5LD.

After this consultation ends, we will consider all responses we receive and prepare the draft version of the Local Plan Review which we hope to publish in spring 2021.

Sustainability Appraisal / Strategic Environmental Assessment

We have produced an interim Sustainability Appraisal (SA) / Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) report. The purpose of the SA/SEA is to assess the economic, environmental, and social effects of the plan from the outset to allow decisions to be made that will deliver sustainable development. The interim report can be found on our Local Plan Review Evidence, Information and Monitoring webpage.

If you wish to comment on the interim report, please send us your comments by the end of the consultation period.

Supporting evidence

The LPR must be supported by a robust evidence base. A number of studies and assessments have been undertaken and information has been collected to inform the plan. The studies and assessments prepared to date are set out on our Local Plan Review Evidence, Information and Monitoring webpage.

Previous consultations

We have undertaken two previous Regulation 18 consultations on the LPR, both of which have fed into the emerging draft document.

We set out the scope and content of our LPR in our pdf icon Local Plan Review Scoping Report [290kb] and accompanying pdf icon Sustainability Appraisal Scoping Report [4Mb]  which we consulted on between February and March 2018. The feedback we received and the way in which this will be taken forward is summarised in our pdf icon LPR Scoping Report Consultation Statement (October 2018) [4Mb].

Between November and December 2018 we then consulted on our proposed: 

  • vision for the Local Plan Review
  • revision of the existing spatial areas
  • methodology for reviewing the existing settlement hierarchy
  • criteria for the settlement boundary review
  • update of our assessment of existing Local Plan policies

Details of this consultation are set out in the pdf icon LPR Regulation 18 Consultation Paper November 2018 [2Mb]. The feedback we received and the way in which this will be taken forward is summarised in our pdf icon LPR Regulation 18 Nov-Dec 2018 Consultation Statement - June 2019 [427kb]

 

Who To Contact